BBC Big Read #170 – Charlottes Web – E. B. White

 

 

CharlotteWeb

Disposition

Although I’ve absolutely heard of this story and know aspects of it, (maybe from watching Jackanory when I was younger), I haven’t actually read this book from cover to cover. I’m looking forward to it but with a bit of trepidation as I don’t want it to be a sad story.

Well I guess I need to explain what Jackanory is to American Girl now.

Jackanory was a BBC children’s television series which was originally broadcast between 1965 to 1996. It was designed to stimulate an interest in reading. The show’s format, which varied little over the decades, involved an actor reading from children’s novels or folk tales, usually while seated in an armchair. From time to time the scene being read would be illustrated by a specially commissioned still drawing, often by Quentin Blake. Usually a single book would occupy five daily fifteen-minute episodes, from Monday to Friday. I have vivid memories of watching then famous celebrities reading these stories with great voices and characterization. I’ve managed to find the originally broadcast version of “Charlotte’s Web” read by Connie Booth (aka Polly in Fawlty Towers). As you can see she narrated the story in a barn replica complete with Wilbur.

Wow, Brit Boy, how old are you? Apart from Reading Rainbow, and Mr. Roger’s Neighborhood, I can’t recall anything close to this program. The current generation of kids probably wouldn’t sit through it, but it definitely feels like the beginning of Audible. Back to my disposition on Charlotte’s Web, this was actually read to me when I was in elementary school. Maybe 2nd grade? I have clear memories of my teacher sitting at the front of the class, while we all sat at our desks, yet I was still engrossed in the story and could recollect many parts of the story to this day. I am excited for a light, quick read with nostalgia.

Editorial

This was a pleasant surprise, it was the easy children’s book that I was expecting but was a strangely uplifting story. I read this in 3 sittings without getting bored or feeling it was tedious in any way. I love the simplistic yet “spot on” characterization of the animals in the barn, from Wilbur the pig, Templeton the Rat, the talkative goose or Charlotte the heroine of our story. Charlotte A. Cavaticus is actually a common barn spider and was based on a Spider from White’s own barn in Maine. I could imagine seeing any of the animals in my barn here at home and hearing them converse in the same tone and inflection.

FKURZQNRMQOQ90K080JQX0FQU03RU0OR20R0QQL0P0OQG0BRJKJQI0JQFKOQE0Q0E0OQP0R0U0R0U00020ORJKARRQ

Reading this after now having a hobby farm of our own, brought it to a complete new light for me. I agree and can also picture this in our own barn, complete with pigs, geese, sheep, etc. Ironically, our first born daughter is named Charlotte as well, giving it even more. I could picture our Charlotte (age 5) sitting down and having these talks with the animals at any given time. While hobby farming hasn’t been everything I thought it would be, stories like this remind me how lucky we are to expose our children to the simplicity of land, animals, and the magic that comes with that. 

Although simplistic in content and having a straight forward story, I always cared about what was going to happen to Wilbur and the rest of the animals, towards the beginning of the story I was worried that Wilbur’s time was limited.

I agree, and despite the book having “talking animals” and a spider that can “write”, it never felt too childish. It managed to still seem possible, much in the same way we all want to believe the ringing bell of the “Polar Express”. A story based on friendship, life, death, growing up, family, and everything in between, yet engaging enough from young to old. A sweet concise story with profound ideas that go far beyond the 184 pages.

“”Fern says she the animals talk to each other. Dr. Dorian, do you believe animals talk?” “I have never heard one say anything,” he replied. “But that proves nothing. It is quite possible that an animal has spoken and I didn’t catch the remark because I wasn’t paying attention. Children pay better attention than grownups. If Fern says that the animals in Zuckerman’s barn talk, I’m quite ready to believe her. Perhaps if people talked less, animals would talk more. People are incessant talkers — I can give you my word on that.”

I can see why this is a classic children’s book, loved by Adults and children alike. I do think I will read this to my kids and it very definitely deserves a place on the list. A really nice read which I would heartily recommend.

The entire time I read this, I kept thinking “I want to read this to our little kids”. Considering we have a “Charlotte” of our own, only makes it that much more special. I think we also need to give proper kudos to the artist “Garth Williams” who sketched the drawings throughout the book. These sketches have become just as integral as the story. 

This entry was posted in BBC Big Read and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment